Heavy-quark production and elliptic flow in Au plus Au collisions at root(NN)-N-S=62.4 GeV

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle


title = "Heavy-quark production and elliptic flow in Au plus Au collisions at root(NN)-N-S=62.4 GeV",
abstract = "We present measurements of electrons and positrons from the semileptonic decays of heavy-flavor hadrons at midrapidity (vertical bar gamma vertical bar < 0.35) in Au + Au collisions at root(NN)-N-S = 62.4 GeV. The data were collected in 2010 by the PHENIX experiment that included the new hadron-blind detector. The invariant yield of electrons from heavy-flavor decays is measured as a function of transverse momentum in the range 1 < p(T)(e) < 5 GeV/c. The invariant yield per binary collision is slightly enhanced above the p + p reference in Au + Au 0%-20%, 20%-40%, and 40%-60% centralities at a comparable level. At this low beam energy this may be a result of the interplay between initial-state Cronin effects, final-state flow, and energy loss in medium. The v(2) of electrons from heavy-flavor decays is nonzero when averaged between 1.3 < p(T)(e) < 2.5 GeV/c for 0%-40% centrality collisions at root(NN)-N-S = 62.4 GeV. For 20%-40% centrality collisions, the v(2) at root(NN)-N-S = 62.4 GeV is smaller than that for heavy-flavor decays at root(NN)-N-S = 200 GeV. The v2 of the electrons from heavy-flavor decay at the lower beam energy is also smaller than v(2) for pions. Both results indicate that the heavy quarks interact with the medium formed in these collisions, but they may not be at the same level of thermalization with the medium as observed at root(NN)-N-S = 200 GeV.",
author = "A. Adare and C. Aidala and Ajitanand, {N. N.} and Y. Akiba and R. Akimoto and H. Al-Ta'ani and J. Alexander and A. Angerami and K. Aoki and N. Apadula and Y. Aramaki and H. Asano and Aschenauer, {E. C.} and Atomssa, {E. T.} and Awes, {T. C.} and B. Azmoun and V. Babintsev and M. Bai and B. Bannier and Barish, {K. N.} and B. Bassalleck and S. Bathe and V. Baublis and S. Baumgart and A. Bazilevsky and R. Belmont and A. Berdnikov and Y. Berdnikov and X. Bing and Blau, {D. S.} and Bok, {J. S.} and K. Boyle and Brooks, {M. L.} and H. Buesching and V. Bumazhnov and S. Butsyk and S. Campbell and P. Castera and Chen, {C. -H.} and Chi, {C. Y.} and M. Chiu and Choi, {I. J.} and Choi, {J. B.} and S. Choi and Choudhury, {R. K.} and Peter Christiansen and T. Chujo and O. Chvala and V. Cianciolo and Z. Citron and Cole, {B. A.} and M. Connors and M. Csanad and T. Csoergo and S. Dairaku and A. Datta and Daugherity, {M. S.} and G. David and A. Denisov and A. Deshpande and Desmond, {E. J.} and Dharmawardane, {K. V.} and O. Dietzsch and L. Ding and A. Dion and M. Donadelli and O. Drapier and A. Drees and Drees, {K. A.} and Durham, {J. M.} and A. Durum and L. D'Orazio and S. Edwards and Efremenko, {Y. V.} and T. Engelmore and A. Enokizono and S. Esumi and Eyser, {K. O.} and B. Fadem and Fields, {D. E.} and M. Finger and Finger, {M. Jr.} and F. Fleuret and Fokin, {S. L.} and Frantz, {J. E.} and A. Franz and Frawley, {A. D.} and Y. Fukao and T. Fusayasu and K. Gainey and C. Gal and A. Garishvili and I. Garishvili and A. Glenn and X. Gong and M. Gonin and Y. Goto and {de Cassagnac}, {R. Granier} and N. Grau and Greene, {S. V.} and Perdekamp, {M. Grosse} and T. Gunji and L. Guo and Hans-{\AA}ke Gustafsson and T. Hachiya and Haggerty, {J. S.} and Hahn, {K. I.} and H. Hamagaki and J. Hanks and K. Hashimoto and Eva Haslum and R. Hayano and X. He and Hemmick, {T. K.} and T. Hester and Hill, {J. C.} and Hollis, {R. S.} and K. Homma and B. Hong and T. Horaguchi and Y. Hori and S. Huang and T. Ichihara and H. Iinuma and Y. Ikeda and J. Imrek and M. Inaba and A. Iordanova and D. Isenhower and M. Issah and D. Ivanishchev and Jacak, {B. V.} and M. Javani and J. Jia and X. Jiang and Johnson, {B. M.} and Joo, {K. S.} and D. Jouan and Jumper, {D. S.} and J. Kamin and S. Kaneti and Kang, {B. H.} and Kang, {J. H.} and Kang, {J. S.} and J. Kapustinsky and K. Karatsu and M. Kasai and D. Kawall and Kazantsev, {A. V.} and T. Kempel and A. Khanzadeev and Kijima, {K. M.} and Kim, {B. I.} and C. Kim and Kim, {D. J.} and Kim, {E. -J.} and Kim, {H. J.} and Kim, {K. -B.} and Kim, {Y. -J.} and Kim, {Y. K.} and E. Kinney and A. Kiss and E. Kistenev and J. Klatsky and D. Kleinjan and P. Kline and Y. Komatsu and B. Komkov and J. Koster and D. Kotchetkov and D. Kotov and A. Kral and F. Krizek and Kunde, {G. J.} and K. Kurita and M. Kurosawa and Y. Kwon and R. Lacey and Kyle, {G. S.} and Lai, {Y. S.} and Lajoie, {J. G.} and A. Lebedev and B. Lee and Lee, {D. M.} and J. Lee and Lee, {K. B.} and Lee, {K. S.} and Lee, {S. H.} and Lee, {S. R.} and Leitch, {M. J.} and Leite, {M. A. L.} and M. Leitgab and B. Lewis and Lim, {S. H.} and Levy, {L. A. Linden} and Liu, {M. X.} and B. Love and Maguire, {C. F.} and Makdisi, {Y. I.} and M. Makek and A. Manion and Manko, {V. I.} and E. Mannel and S. Masumoto and M. McCumber and McGaughey, {P. L.} and D. McGlinchey and C. McKinney and M. Mendoza and B. Meredith and Y. Miake and T. Mibe and Mignerey, {A. C.} and A. Milov and Mishra, {D. K.} and Mitchell, {J. T.} and Y. Miyachi and S. Miyasaka and Mohanty, {A. K.} and Moon, {H. J.} and Morrison, {D. P.} and S. Motschwiller and Moukhanova, {T. V.} and T. Murakami and J. Murata and T. Nagae and S. Nagamiya and Nagle, {J. L.} and Nagy, {M. I.} and I. Nakagawa and Y. Nakamiya and Nakamura, {K. R.} and T. Nakamura and K. Nakano and C. Nattrass and A. Nederlof and M. Nihashi and R. Nouicer and N. Novitzky and Nyanin, {A. S.} and E. O'Brien and Ogilvie, {C. A.} and K. Okada and Anders Oskarsson and M. Ouchida and K. Ozawa and R. Pak and V. Pantuev and V. Papavassiliou and Park, {B. H.} and Park, {I. H.} and Park, {S. K.} and Pate, {S. F.} and L. Patel and H. Pei and Peng, {J. -C.} and H. Pereira and Peressounko, {D. Yu.} and R. Petti and C. Pinkenburg and Pisani, {R. P.} and M. Proissl and Purschke, {M. L.} and H. Qu and J. Rak and I. Ravinovich and Read, {K. F.} and D. Reynolds and V. Riabov and Y. Riabov and E. Richardson and N. Riveli and D. Roach and G. Roche and Rolnick, {S. D.} and M. Rosati and B. Sahlmueller and N. Saito and T. Sakaguchi and V. Samsonov and M. Sano and M. Sarsour and S. Sawada and K. Sedgwick and R. Seidl and A. Sen and R. Seto and D. Sharma and I. Shein and Shibata, {T. -A.} and K. Shigaki and M. Shimomura and K. Shoji and P. Shukla and A. Sickles and Silva, {C. L.} and D. Silvermyr and Sim, {K. S.} and Singh, {B. K.} and Singh, {C. P.} and V. Singh and M. Slunecka and Soltz, {R. A.} and Sondheim, {W. E.} and Sorensen, {S. P.} and M. Soumya and Sourikova, {I. V.} and Stankus, {P. W.} and Evert Stenlund and M. Stepanov and A. Ster and Stoll, {S. P.} and T. Sugitate and A. Sukhanov and J. Sun and J. Sziklai and Takagui, {E. M.} and A. Takahara and A. Taketani and Y. Tanaka and S. Taneja and K. Tanida and Tannenbaum, {M. J.} and S. Tarafdar and A. Taranenko and E. Tennant and H. Themann and T. Todoroki and L. Tomasek and M. Tomasek and H. Torii and Towell, {R. S.} and I. Tserruya and Y. Tsuchimoto and T. Tsuji and C. Vale and {van Hecke}, {H. W.} and M. Vargyas and E. Vazquez-Zambrano and A. Veicht and J. Velkovska and R. Vertesi and M. Virius and A. Vossen and V. Vrba and E. Vznuzdaev and Wang, {X. R.} and D. Watanabe and K. Watanabe and Y. Watanabe and Watanabe, {Y. S.} and F. Wei and R. Wei and S. Whitaker and White, {S. N.} and D. Winter and S. Wolin and Woody, {C. L.} and M. Wysocki and Yamaguchi, {Y. L.} and R. Yang and A. Yanovich and J. Ying and S. Yokkaichi and Z. You and I. Younus and Yushmanov, {I. E.} and Zajc, {W. A.} and A. Zelenski",
year = "2015",
doi = "10.1103/PhysRevC.91.044907",
language = "English",
volume = "91",
journal = "Physical Review C",
issn = "2469-9985",
publisher = "American Physical Society",
number = "4",