Modelling the precipitating non-aqueous CO2 capture system AMP-NMP, using the unsymmetric electrolyte NRTL

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle


A thermodynamic property model for the non-aqueous precipitating CO2 capture system 2-amino-2-methyl-1-propanol (AMP) in N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP) has been developed. The binary NRTL interaction parameters, electrolyte pair parameters, and equilibrium constant for the precipitation reaction were estimated from experimental data using the unsymmetrical electrolyte NRTL property method (ENRTL-RK) in ASPEN Plus®. The Gibbs energy and the enthalpy of formation of pure solid were calculated from the regressed equilibrium constant. A simple flash tank simulation was run based on the property model developed to compare experimental data with the predictions of the model. The property model was able to qualitatively predict the behavior of the solubility curves and the heat of absorption for the system. This makes it possible to develop a rigorous plant model for the AMP in NMP system, which could be used to further assess and explore potential energy savings when using this amine solvent for CO2 capture.


Research areas and keywords

Subject classification (UKÄ) – MANDATORY

  • Theoretical Chemistry


  • COcapture, Electrolyte NRTL, Model, Non-aqueous, Precipitating
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)20-32
Number of pages13
JournalInternational Journal of Greenhouse Gas Control
Issue numberOct.
Publication statusPublished - 2019
Publication categoryResearch

Related projects

Johanna Generosi, Rajni Hatti-Kaul, Sang-Hyun Pyo, Baozhong Zhang, Charlotta Turner, Irene Rodriguez Meizoso, Ola Wallberg, Christian Hulteberg, Olaf Diegel, Matti Ristinmaa, Lars J Nilsson, Ellen Palm, Karin Ericsson, Teis Hansen, Mikael Klintman, Johannes Stripple, Fredric Bauer, Stine Madsen, Patric Jannasch, Noomi Egan, Tobias Nielsen, Karl Holmberg, Anna Svantesson, Stephen Hall, Sayed Mahmoud, Oliver Englund Örn, Smita Mankar, Niklas Warlin, Nitin Valsange, Meher Sanku, Jacob Hasselbalch, Mikael Sjölin, Teis Hansen, Lu Chen, Axel Nordin, Jonas Engqvist, Nelly Garcia Gonzalez, William R. Newson, Eva Johansson, Ramune Kuktaite, Faraz Muneer, Erik Nilsson , Zengwei Guo, Josefin Ahlqvist & Sanel Peric

MISTRA, Swedish foundation for strategic environmental research


Project: Research

View all (1)