Separable Lyapunov functions for monotone systems

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingPaper in conference proceeding


Separable Lyapunov functions play vital roles, for example, in stability analysis of large-scale systems. A Lyapunov function is called max-separable if it can be decomposed into a maximum of functions with one-dimensional arguments. Similarly, it is called sum-separable if it is a sum of such functions. In this paper it is shown that for a monotone system on a compact state space, asymptotic stability implies existence of a max-separable Lyapunov function. We also construct two systems on a non-compact state space, for which a max- separable Lyapunov function does not exist. One of them has a sum-separable Lyapunov function. The other does not.


Research areas and keywords

Subject classification (UKÄ) – MANDATORY

  • Control Engineering


  • stability, Lyapunov functions, monotone systems
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationIEEE Xplore Digital Library
PublisherIEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Inc.
Publication statusPublished - 2013
Publication categoryResearch
Event52nd IEEE Conference on Decision and Control, 2013 - Florence, Italy
Duration: 2013 Dec 102013 Dec 13
Conference number: 52


Conference52nd IEEE Conference on Decision and Control, 2013
Abbreviated titlecdc2013
Internet address

Related projects

Anders Holmqvist, Niklas Andersson, Anton Cervin, Anders Mannesson, Ather Gattami, Andrey Ghulchak, Alessandro Vittorio Papadopoulos, Anders Rantzer, Anders Robertsson, Aivar Sootla, ALFRED THEORIN, Bo Bernhardsson, Björn Olofsson, Björn Wittenmark, Christian Grussler, Charlotta Johnsson, Daria Madjidian, Erik Johannesson, Fredrik Magnusson, Fredrik Ståhl, Giacomo Como, Georgios Chasparis, Gabriel Turesson, Isolde Dressler, Johan Åkesson, Jang Ho Cho, Karl-Erik Årzén, Karl Johan Åström, Kin Cheong Sou, Karl Mårtensson, Karl Berntorp, Kristian Soltesz, Laurent Lessard, Martin Hast, Meike Rönn, Martin Ansbjerg Kjær, Martina Maggio, Maxim Kristalny, Olof Garpinger, Pål Johan From, Per-Ola Larsson, Pontus Giselsson, Rolf Johansson, Tore Hägglund, Vladimeros Vladimerou, Vanessa Romero Segovia, Andreas Aurelius, Gustav Cedersjö, Kaan Bür, Manfred Dellkrantz, Manxing Du, Payam Amani, Robin Larsson, William Tärneberg, Zheng Li, Lianhao Yin, Fredrik Tufvesson, Stefan Höst, Bernt Nilsson, Stig Stenström, Jens A Andersson, Stefan Diehl, Jonas Dürango, Mahdi Ghazaei Ardakani, Per-Ola Forsberg, Fredrik Bengtsson, Henrik Jörntell, Carmen Arévalo, Claus Führer, Christian Andersson, Fatemeh Mohammadi, Per Ödling, Mikael Andersson, Maria Kihl & Per Tunestål


Project: Research

View all (1)