Single-particle and collective excitations in the N=28 isotones 54Fe and 53Mn

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle


The fusion-evaporation reaction 32S + 28Si at 125 MeV beam energy was used to populate high-spin states in the semimagic N = 28 nuclei 53Mn and 54Fe. With a combination of the Gammasphere spectrometer and ancillary devices including the Microball CsI(Tl) array, extensive high-spin level schemes are derived. They exhibit rotational-like collective structures and competing single-particle excitations. The experimental results are compared with predictions from shell-model calculations, for which the inclusion of isopin-symmetry-breaking terms is found to improve the description. An interpretation of the high-spin states is put forward using cranked Nilsson-Strutinsky calculations, indicative of contributions from collective excitations beyond some 8-MeV excitation energy and highlighting the importance of the g9/2 intruder orbital in this energy range.


External organisations
  • Simon Fraser University
  • University of York
  • Washington University in St. Louis
  • Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Malmö University
  • Argonne National Laboratory
Research areas and keywords

Subject classification (UKÄ) – MANDATORY

  • Subatomic Physics


  • Nuclear structure, Gamma-ray spectroscopy, Shell model calculations, Rotational bands
Original languageEnglish
Article number014316
Number of pages27
JournalPhysical Review C
Issue number1
Publication statusPublished - 2020 Jul 21
Publication categoryResearch

Total downloads

No data available

Related research output

Dirk Rudolph, Lise-Lotte Andersson, Ragnar Bengtsson, Jörgen Ekman, O. Erten, Claes Fahlander, Emma Johansson, Ingemar Ragnarsson, Corina Andreoiu, M. A. Bentley, M. P. Carpenter, R. J. Charity, R. M. Clark, P. Fallon, A. O. Macchiavelli, W. Reviol, D. G. Sarantites, D. Seweryniak, C. E. Svensson & S. J. Williams, 2010, In : Physical Review C (Nuclear Physics). 82, 5, 054309.

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

Dirk Rudolph, Gillis Carlsson, Ingemar Ragnarsson, Sven Åberg, Corina Andreoiu, MA Bentley, MP Carpenter, RJ Charity, RM Clark, M Cromaz, J Ekman, Claes Fahlander, P Fallon, E Ideguchi, AO Macchiavelli, MN Mineva, W Reviol, DG Sarantites, D Seweryniak & SJ Williams, 2006, In : Physical Review Letters. 96, 9, 092501.

Research output: Contribution to journalLetter

Rickard du Rietz, SJ Williams, Dirk Rudolph, Jörgen Ekman, Claes Fahlander, Corina Andreoiu, M Axiotis, MA Bentley, MP Carpenter, C Chandler, RJ Charity, RM Clark, M Cromaz, A Dewald, G de Angelis, F Della Vedova, P Fallon, A Gadea, G Hammond, E Ideguchi & 14 others, SM Lenzi, AO Macchiavelli, N Marginean, Milena Mineva, O Moller, DR Napoli, M Nespolo, W Reviol, C Rusu, B Saha, DG Sarantites, D Seweryniak, D Tonev & CA Ur, 2005, In : Physical Review C (Nuclear Physics). 72, 1, 014307.

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

View all (7)

Related projects

Dirk Rudolph, Claes Fahlander, Pavel Golubev, Luis Sarmiento Pico, Daniel Cox, Yuliia Hrabar, Anton Såmark-Roth, Ulrika Forsberg, Christian Lorenz, Natasa Lalovic, Natasa Lalovic, Ulrika Forsberg, Jnaneswari Gellanki, Robert Hoischen, Emma Johansson, Lise-Lotte Andersson, Rickard du Rietz, Jörgen Ekman & Corina Andreoiu

Swedish Research Council


Project: ResearchInternational collaboration

View all (1)