Standardized EEG interpretation accurately predicts prognosis after cardiac arrest

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle


title = "Standardized EEG interpretation accurately predicts prognosis after cardiac arrest",
abstract = "Objective: To identify reliable predictors of outcome in comatose patients after cardiac arrest using a single routine EEG and standardized interpretation according to the terminology proposed by the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society. Methods: In this cohort study, 4 EEG specialists, blinded to outcome, evaluated prospectively recorded EEGs in the Target Temperature Management trial (TTM trial) that randomized patients to 33°C vs 36°C. Routine EEG was performed in patients still comatose after rewarming. EEGs were classified into highly malignant (suppression, suppression with periodic discharges, burst-suppression), malignant (periodic or rhythmic patterns, pathological or nonreactive background), and benign EEG (absence of malignant features). Poor outcome was defined as best Cerebral Performance Category score 3-5 until 180 days. Results: Eight TTM sites randomized 202 patients. EEGs were recorded in 103 patients at a median 77 hours after cardiac arrest; 37{\%} had a highly malignant EEG and all had a poor outcome (specificity 100{\%}, sensitivity 50{\%}). Any malignant EEG feature had a low specificity to predict poor prognosis (48{\%}) but if 2 malignant EEG features were present specificity increased to 96{\%} (p <0.001). Specificity and sensitivity were not significantly affected by targeted temperature or sedation. A benign EEG was found in 1{\%} of the patients with a poor outcome. Conclusions: Highly malignant EEG after rewarming reliably predicted poor outcome in half of patients without false predictions. An isolated finding of a single malignant feature did not predict poor outcome whereas a benign EEG was highly predictive of a good outcome.",
author = "Erik Westhall and Rossetti, {Andrea O.} and {Van Rootselaar}, {Anne Fleur} and Kjaer, {Troels Wesenberg} and Janneke Horn and Susann Ull{\'e}n and Hans Friberg and Niklas Nielsen and Ingmar Ros{\'e}n and Anders Aneman and David Erlinge and Yvan Gasche and Christian Hassager and Jan Hovdenes and Jesper Kjaergaard and Michael Kuiper and Tommaso Pellis and Pascal Stammet and Michael Wanscher and J{\o}rn Wetterslev and Wise, {Matt P.} and Tobias Cronberg",
year = "2016",
month = "4",
day = "19",
doi = "10.1212/WNL.0000000000002462",
language = "English",
volume = "86",
pages = "1482--1490",
journal = "Neurology",
issn = "1526-632X",
publisher = "American Academy of Neurology",
number = "16",