Towards global consensus on outcome measures for atopic eczema research: results of the HOME II meeting

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle


The use of nonstandardized and inadequately validated outcome measures in atopic eczema trials is a major obstacle to practising evidence-based dermatology. The Harmonising Outcome Measures for Eczema (HOME) initiative is an international multiprofessional group dedicated to atopic eczema outcomes research. In June 2011, the HOME initiative conducted a consensus study involving 43 individuals from 10 countries, representing different stakeholders (patients, clinicians, methodologists, pharmaceutical industry) to determine core outcome domains for atopic eczema trials, to define quality criteria for atopic eczema outcome measures and to prioritize topics for atopic eczema outcomes research. Delegates were given evidence-based information, followed by structured group discussion and anonymous consensus voting. Consensus was achieved to include clinical signs, symptoms, long-term control of flares and quality of life into the core set of outcome domains for atopic eczema trials. The HOME initiative strongly recommends including and reporting these core outcome domains as primary or secondary endpoints in all future atopic eczema trials. Measures of these core outcome domains need to be valid, sensitive to change and feasible. Prioritized topics of the HOME initiative are the identification/development of the most appropriate instruments for the four core outcome domains. HOME is open to anyone with an interest in atopic eczema outcomes research.


  • Jochen Schmitt
  • Phyllis Spuls
  • Maarten Boers
  • Kim Thomas
  • Joanne Chalmers
  • Evelien Roekevisch
  • Mandy Schram
  • Richard Allsopp
  • Valeria Aoki
  • Christian Apfelbacher
  • Carla Bruijnzeel-Koomen
  • Marjolein Bruin-Weller
  • Carolyn Charman
  • Arnon Cohen
  • Magdalene Dohil
  • Carsten Flohr
  • Masutaka Furue
  • Uwe Gieler
  • Lotty Hooft
  • Rosemary Humphreys
  • Henrique Akira Ishii
  • Ichiro Katayama
  • Willem Kouwenhoven
  • Sinead Langan
  • Sue Lewis-Jones
  • Stephanie Merhand
  • Hiroyuki Murota
  • Dedee F. Murrell
  • Helen Nankervis
  • Yukihiro Ohya
  • Arnold Oranje
  • Hiromi Otsuka
  • Carle Paul
  • Yael Rosenbluth
  • Hidehisa Saeki
  • Marie-Louise Schuttelaar
  • Jean-Francois Stalder
  • Roberto Takaoka
  • Carl-Fredrik Wahlgren
  • Stephan Weidinger
  • Andreas Wollenberg
  • Hywel Williams
Research areas and keywords

Subject classification (UKÄ) – MANDATORY

  • Respiratory Medicine and Allergy


  • atopic dermatitis, consensus study, measurement, outcome domain, study, endpoint
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)1111-1117
Issue number9
Publication statusPublished - 2012
Publication categoryResearch

Bibliographic note

The information about affiliations in this record was updated in December 2015. The record was previously connected to the following departments: Department of Dermatology and Venerology (013241320)