BioMAX the first macromolecular crystallography beamline at MAX IV Laboratory

Forskningsoutput: TidskriftsbidragArtikel i vetenskaplig tidskrift


BioMAX is the first macromolecular crystallography beamline at the MAX IV Laboratory 3 GeV storage ring, which is the first operational multi-bend achromat storage ring. Due to the low-emittance storage ring, BioMAX has a parallel, high-intensity X-ray beam, even when focused down to 20 μm × 5 μm using the bendable focusing mirrors. The beam is tunable in the energy range 5-25 keV using the in-vacuum undulator and the horizontally deflecting double-crystal monochromator. BioMAX is equipped with an MD3 diffractometer, an ISARA high-capacity sample changer and an EIGER 16M hybrid pixel detector. Data collection at BioMAX is controlled using the newly developed MXCuBE3 graphical user interface, and sample tracking is handled by ISPyB. The computing infrastructure includes data storage and processing both at MAX IV and the Lund University supercomputing center LUNARC. With state-of-the-art instrumentation, a high degree of automation, a user-friendly control system interface and remote operation, BioMAX provides an excellent facility for most macromolecular crystallography experiments. Serial crystallography using either a high-viscosity extruder injector or the MD3 as a fixed-target scanner is already implemented. The serial crystallography activities at MAX IV Laboratory will be further developed at the microfocus beamline MicroMAX, when it comes into operation in 2022. MicroMAX will have a 1 μm × 1 μm beam focus and a flux up to 1015 photons s with main applications in serial crystallography, room-temperature structure determinations and time-resolved experiments.


  • Karl Åhnberg
  • Roberto Appio
  • Oskar Aurelius
  • Artur Barczyk
  • Antonio Bartalesi
  • Fredrik Bolmsten
  • Yngve Cerenius
  • R. Bruce Doak
  • Mikel Eguiraun
  • Thomas Eriksson
  • Ross J. Friel
  • Ishkhan Gorgisyan
  • Andrea Gross
  • Vahid Haghighat
  • Elmir Jagudin
  • Brian Norsk Jensen
  • Tobias Jeppsson
  • Marco Kloos
  • Julio Lidon-Simon
  • Gustavo M.A.De Lima
  • Robert Lizatovic
  • Magnus Lundin
  • Antonio Milan-Otero
  • Mirko Milas
  • Alberto Nardella
  • Anders Rosborg
  • Anastasiia Shilova
  • Robert L. Shoeman
  • Frank Siewert
  • Johan Thånell
  • Johan Unge
  • Christopher Ward
  • Uwe Muellera
Enheter & grupper
Externa organisationer
  • Max-Planck-Institut für Medizinische Forschung
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin for Materials and Energy

Ämnesklassifikation (UKÄ) – OBLIGATORISK

  • Atom- och molekylfysik och optik


Sidor (från-till)1415-1429
Antal sidor15
TidskriftJournal of Synchrotron Radiation
StatusPublished - 2020 sep 1
Peer review utfördJa