Optimal Linear Joint Source-Channel Coding with Delay Constraint

Forskningsoutput: TidskriftsbidragArtikel i vetenskaplig tidskrift


The problem of joint source-channel coding is considered for a stationary remote (noisy) Gaussian source and a Gaussian channel. The encoder and decoder are assumed to be causal and their combined operations are subject to a delay constraint. It is shown that, under the mean-square error distortion metric, an optimal encoder-decoder pair from the linear and time-invariant (LTI) class can be found by minimization of a convex functional and a spectral factorization. The functional to be minimized is the sum of the well-known cost in a corresponding Wiener filter problem and a new term, which is induced by the channel noise and whose coefficient is the inverse of the channel's signal-to-noise ratio. This result is shown to also hold in the case of vector-valued signals, assuming parallel additive white Gaussian noise channels. It is also shown that optimal LTI encoders and decoders generally require infinite memory, which implies that approximations are necessary.
A numerical example is provided, which compares the performance to the lower bound provided by rate-distortion theory.


Enheter & grupper

Ämnesklassifikation (UKÄ) – OBLIGATORISK

  • Matematik
  • Datorseende och robotik (autonoma system)
  • Reglerteknik


TidskriftIEEE Transactions on Information Theory
StatusSubmitted - 2012
Peer review utfördNej


Ingen tillgänglig data

Related projects

Anders Holmqvist, Niklas Andersson, Anton Cervin, Anders Mannesson, Ather Gattami, Andrey Ghulchak, Alessandro Vittorio Papadopoulos, Anders Rantzer, Anders Robertsson, Aivar Sootla, ALFRED THEORIN, Bo Bernhardsson, Björn Olofsson, Björn Wittenmark, Christian Grussler, Charlotta Johnsson, Daria Madjidian, Erik Johannesson, Fredrik Magnusson, Fredrik Ståhl, Giacomo Como, Georgios Chasparis, Gabriel Turesson, Isolde Dressler, Johan Åkesson, Jang Ho Cho, Karl-Erik Årzén, Karl Johan Åström, Kin Cheong Sou, Karl Mårtensson, Karl Berntorp, Kristian Soltesz, Laurent Lessard, Martin Hast, Meike Rönn, Martin Ansbjerg Kjær, Martina Maggio, Maxim Kristalny, Olof Garpinger, Pål Johan From, Per-Ola Larsson, Pontus Giselsson, Rolf Johansson, Tore Hägglund, Vladimeros Vladimerou, Vanessa Romero Segovia, Andreas Aurelius, Gustav Cedersjö, Kaan Bür, Manfred Dellkrantz, Manxing Du, Payam Amani, Robin Larsson, William Tärneberg, Zheng Li, Lianhao Yin, Fredrik Tufvesson, Stefan Höst, Bernt Nilsson, Stig Stenström, Jens A Andersson, Stefan Diehl, Jonas Dürango, Mahdi Ghazaei Ardakani, Per-Ola Forsberg, Fredrik Bengtsson, Henrik Jörntell, Carmen Arévalo, Claus Führer, Christian Andersson, Fatemeh Mohammadi, Per Ödling, Mikael Andersson, Maria Kihl & Per Tunestål


Projekt: Forskning

Visa alla (1)